Green Sites
Download
Play Video
Intro
The Bowen Road Slope Study Trail was developed by the Geotechnical Engineering Office (GEO), Civil Engineering and Development Department (CEDD). It aims to facilitate teachers, students and interested members of the public to learn about the common slope works in Hong Kong by taking a stroll along Bowen Road, including various landslide prevention and mitigation as well as slope greening and landscaping measures.
(1) Slope greening in Hong Kong
Urban development in Hong Kong intersects with the city’s steep hillsides, so that both natural and man-made slopes are now an integral part of the cityscape. It is the Government’s policy to make these slopes look as natural as possible, not only to create a pleasing appearance, but also to nurture ecologically suitable hillslope environments. In this connection, GEO encourages tree retention and provides vegetation cover for all upgraded man-made slopes and natural terrain hazard mitigation measures wherever practicable, so that these areas blend in with the adjacent natural environment. GEO also sets appropriate planting goals for slope works. For example, Ecological Planting is adopted for slopes located in rural areas and urban fringes that are connected to natural vegetation, where mostly native trees and shrubs are planted to maximise the ecological benefit. Among the 300,000 plants planted each year in the landslip prevention and mitigation works, over 90% are native species.
(2) Landscaping the Ecological Enhancement at Bowen Road
Two major landslides occurred above Bowen Road during a heavy rainstorm in August 2005 and forced a school to close for more than three weeks. Emergency repair works involved the use of shotcrete and temporary soil nails, which alleviated the imminent risk of further slope degradation, but left behind a landslide scar on the woody hillside above Bowen Road. In response, GEO implemented innovative landscape treatments by constructing a series of terraces along the steeply sloped surface to reshape the ground profile. These terraces were designed to be large enough to hold sufficient soil for the proliferation of a variety of plants, and support long-term plant growth. The plants chosen consisted predominantly of native species which are also beneficial to local wildlife. This project demonstrated that landscape treatments can be integrated into the city’s natural terrain hazard mitigation works and be conducive to biodiversity.
The theme for Eco Expo Asia 2018 is Waste Less Save More for a Low-Carbon Future. The last day (28 Oct) of the Expo is open to the general public for free admission. The Public Day will feature a series of events and activities, including Green Mart, Green Workshops, Public Day Forum and micro-movie premiere.
Situated at 3 Kai Shing Street, Kowloon Bay, the former Hong Kong Air Cargo Terminal 2 building was converted into the EMSD headquarters building in 2005, which is a pilot revitalization and green building exemplary project, as manifested in its revitalization and adaptive reuse, environmentally friendly design and education facilities, construction method, as well as less demolition and construction waste. There is an Education Path in the headquarters building, which is intended to promote awareness of energy efficiency and renewable energy (RE) technologies and to introduce the work of EMSD through the use of fun interactive exhibits for members of the public to learn more about electrical and mechanical safety as well as energy efficiency.
Intro
The HKO Headquarters was established in 1883, and the main building is a declared monument in Hong Kong. The semi-natural woodland at HKO Headquarters is an urban woodland that fosters a diversity of species.
(1) Semi-natural woodland
The woodland at HKO Headquarters is one of the few remaining semi-natural woodlands in Kowloon. A diversity of common tree species can be found there, such as Chinese Banyan, Lance-leaved Sterculia, and Elephant’s Ear. This dense woodland also serves as a natural shelter for city birds, bats, insects and other local wildlife. Some migratory birds likewise utilise this woodland as a stopover, including the Brown Flycatcher and Blackbird, with some even staying for the whole winter.
(2) Climate change
Climate change is likely to become one of the most significant drivers of biodiversity loss worldwide. The rate and magnitude of climate change induced by a rapid rise in greenhouse gas emissions has the power to affect biodiversity both directly and in combination with other drivers of change. For example, it affects the changing of seasons, and disrupts birds’ migration routes and periods, which in turn may cause an adverse interruption to their breeding and foraging opportunities. The Observatory provides scientific input to climate change documents in Hong Kong, and actively supports the policies and actions regarding climate mitigation, adaptation and resilience undertaken and coordinated by the Steering Committee on Climate Change.
Intro
The Hong Kong Zoological and Botanical Gardens (HKZBG) is the oldest park in the territory spanning an area of 5.6 hectares. Built in 1860, the HKZBG was fully completed and opened to the public in 1871.
(1) An urban lookout for plant appreciation
Used to house an assemblage of native plants for collection and research in its early years, the HKZBG was long known as the “Botanic Gardens”. In 1975, it was officially renamed as the “Hong Kong Zoological and Botanical Gardens”. Its vast botanical collection includes representatives of native flora, a number of Old and Valuable Trees, special and rare species plants, and medicinal herbs. Visitors can save themselves the trouble of hiking over Hong Kong’s peaks to learn about the territory’s great variety of plants: the HKZBG offers various thematic gardens, well-labelled tree walks, and free guided visits of the park every Sunday.
(2) Urban parks as oases for wildlife
Parks and gardens with diversified landscapes and vegetation play an important role in enhancing biodiversity in urban areas, as they provide food and refuge for wildlife. To promote the conservation of wildlife such as birds, butterflies and dragonflies, the Leisure and Cultural Services Department has set up “Conservation Corners” in some urban parks. In general, more nectar plants and fruit-bearing trees are planted in these areas to provide food sources for wildlife. Their horticultural maintenance also adopts an ecological approach, such as using less chemicals and adjusting the frequency of pruning and vegetation clearance to minimise disturbance to the wildlife utilising those habitats.
Intro
Kowloon City No. 1 and No. 2 Sewage Pumping Stations were commissioned by the Drainage Services Department (DSD) in 2012. Their design incorporates a number of green building concepts, including green roofs, porous pavements, rain gardens and water harvesting facilities.
(1) Green construction
Kowloon City No.1 Sewage Pumping Station was the first government infrastructure to be awarded the highest Final Platinum Rating under BEAM Plus Assessment for New Buildings. Its installed solar panels can generate and support 15% of the building’s electricity demand. The 60% greening area enhances the landscape features while also providing a thermal insulation capability. Moreover, the floor and other facilities store rainwater, which is used for irrigation and flushing, thus ensuring that water resources are used more efficiently.
(2) Sponge City
“Sponge City” is a modern Stormwater Management approach to help solve drainage problems, fully utilise land resources and promote sustainable development. To combat climate change, DSD encourages the “Sponge City” concept to be adopted in all new developments for more effective drainage and rainwater reuse, which enhances urban flood resilience through the principles of infiltration, retention, storage, purification, reuse and discharge. To implement the concept, DSD is committed to a programme of revitalising water bodies, constructing flood retention lakes, and applying sustainable drainage elements such as green roofs and porous pavements in urban developments.
Intro
In late 2015, DSD started ecological enhancement site trials in a section of Lower Lam Tsuen River near Mui Shue Hang Playground, and a section of Ma Wat River near Jockey Club Road .
(1) Ecological Enhancement Site Trials
In a number of river training works, in addition to upgrading drainage capacities, DSD has also incorporated greening, ecological conservation and water landscape elements into the projects, such as preserving the natural river habitat. In this regard, the site trials replaced the concrete channels with natural river bed substrates and riparian zone. Diverse aquatic habitats such as pools, riffles, resting ground for birds and emergent vegetation were established to improve microhabitats and biodiversity. The preliminary findings of the site trials are promising and show that the complexity of instream habitat and the ecological value of the river channel have improved.
For details regarding DSD’s Eco-hydraulic Study of other selected river channels in Hong Kong, please visit the website “EcoDMS” at https://www.dsd.gov.hk/EcoDMS/EN/Home/Home.html
(2) Blue Green Infrastructure
To maintain Hong Kong as a liveable city, DSD takes sustainable development into important consideration when implementing its various projects. “Blue-Green Infrastructure” refers to an urban drainage system that incorporates natural elements, community features and modern functions. “Blue” broadly refers to water bodies, while “Green” represents plants. In addition to using environmental practices in its construction works, DSD pays particular attention to the ecological conservation of rivers in order to maintain biodiversity.
Intro
In late 2015, DSD started ecological enhancement site trials in a section of Lower Lam Tsuen River near Mui Shue Hang Playground, and a section of Ma Wat River near Jockey Club Road .
(1) Ecological Enhancement Site Trials
In a number of river training works, in addition to upgrading drainage capacities, DSD has also incorporated greening, ecological conservation and water landscape elements into the projects, such as preserving the natural river habitat. In this regard, the site trials replaced the concrete channels with natural river bed substrates and riparian zone. Diverse aquatic habitats such as pools, riffles, resting ground for birds and emergent vegetation were established to improve microhabitats and biodiversity. The preliminary findings of the site trials are promising and show that the complexity of instream habitat and the ecological value of the river channel have improved.
For details regarding DSD’s Eco-hydraulic Study of other selected river channels in Hong Kong, please visit the website “EcoDMS” at https://www.dsd.gov.hk/EcoDMS/EN/Home/Home.html
(2) Blue Green Infrastructure
To maintain Hong Kong as a liveable city, DSD takes sustainable development into important consideration when implementing its various projects. “Blue-Green Infrastructure” refers to an urban drainage system that incorporates natural elements, community features and modern functions. “Blue” broadly refers to water bodies, while “Green” represents plants. In addition to using environmental practices in its construction works, DSD pays particular attention to the ecological conservation of rivers in order to maintain biodiversity.
Intro
Since 2015, T · PARK, a state-of-the-art and self-sufficient sludge treatment facility, integrating advanced science and technology with leisure, education and ecology. It has been awarded the highest Platinum Rating in the Provisional Assessment Stage under the BEAM Plus New Buildings (V1.1) . As one of the most technically advanced facilities of its kind in the world, it represents the city’s vision of embracing the “waste-to-energy” concept. T · PARK is engaged in driving positive change in the attitudes and behaviours of people towards waste management and resource recovery.
(1) Landscape and habitat
Seventy percent of T · PARK is covered by green features, including a five-themed landscape garden, green roofs, and a wetland habitat for wildlife. The facility is planted with local greenery and native species. This includes a spacious 9,800sq.m. landscaped garden that offers a welcome respite from the city, as well as a dedicated bird sanctuary set up as a haven for the district’s water birds.
(2) Turning waste to energy
T · PARK treats sludge from 11 Sewage Treatment Works around the city. By using various advanced technologies, including “fluidised bed” incineration, the sludge is treated through a highly efficient process that reduces the volume of sludge disposal in landfills by up to 90%. The heat generated by the incineration process is recovered for power generation to support the entire facility. Surplus electricity is then exported to the public power grid.
Intro
The Tai Tam Waterworks Heritage Trail is made up of 21 historic waterworks structures which have been declared monuments in the Tai Tam Group of Reservoirs. The Heritage Trail is located within Tai Tam Country Park and the Tai Tam Reservoir Catchment Area, where rich biodiversity can be found.
(1) Ecology of the Tai Tam Group of Reservoirs
Due to its geographical location and terrain, the valley where the Tai Tam Group of Reservoirs is situated is a woodland habitat featuring rich flora and fauna. Many native plants can be found along the Trail, including camellias (such as Hong Kong Camellia, Hong Kong Gordonia, and Crapnell’s Camellia), Buddhist Pine, and Chinese Sweet Gum. In addition to the lush vegetation, a variety of birds, mammals, amphibians, reptiles and insects can be found around the Tai Tam Group of Reservoirs. Indeed, the Tai Tam Reservoir Catchment Area has been named a Site of Special Scientific Interest because of its floristically rich woodland that provides a favourable habitat for animal and bird life.
(2) Water gathering grounds and country parks
About one third of Hong Kong’s land is designated as water gathering grounds where surface runoff is collected for storage. Currently, most of the water gathering grounds overlap with country parks, and are thus protected by the Country Parks Ordinance. As water gathering grounds and impounding reservoirs are both sources of fresh water, members of the public are required to abide by the Waterworks Ordinance, in order to protect these precious water resources.
Tamar Park, located at Harcourt Road, Admiralty, Hong Kong, is a part of the Tamar Development Project. Adjacent to the new Central Government Offices and the Legislative Council Complex, it covers an area of around 1.76 hectares. The park was opened for public use on 10 October 2011. Designed with elegant simplicity, the park offers broad views of the picturesque Victoria Harbour. Spacious green lawns, rolling out like "green carpets", provide a swathe of verdant open space for visitors to stroll or sit.
Intro
Acacia confusa is a tree with a relatively short botanical life expectancy, and those planted over the past five decades are now reaching the stage where their old age may compromise their structural integrity and create a risk of collapse. For example, the trunk can be infected by different fungi, meaning the branches can easily break. To ease the problem of dying trees endangering public safety, the Highways Department is removing old Acacia confusa trees in phases.
(1) Enhancement Programme of Vegetated Slopes
The Highways Department has launched the Enhancement Programme of Vegetated Slopes, working in phases to systematically remove Acacia confusa trees with disease or poor structure, and replanting native and localised species, such as Sapium discolour, Sterculia lanceolate, Viburnum odoratissimum, to create a safe highway landscape that also has a high ecological value for wildlife and aesthetic value for the public’s enjoyment. The waste timber generated from the scheme is recycled for educational use, or upcycled into furniture and wooden sculptures.
(2) Planting native species
Since native plant species are generally more adapted to the local environment and more valuable within the ecosystem as sources of food and habitats for wildlife, the Highways Department will enhance the biodiversity and local environment by planting native and localised species along slopes and areas within High Speed Roads in both urban and rural area maintained by the department. This has a ripple effect in creating more biodiversity on a number of levels, particularly in urban areas.
Yuen Long Bypass Floodway has incorporated a series of environmental designs. Its flow is not carried straight to the sea but passing through different regimes including bends, shallow ponds and wetland. The channel bottom and slope are covered by different species of herbaceous plants to provide a natural riverbank with aesthetic and ecological value. A system of dry weather flow pumping station and inflatable dam is provided at the downstream end to control the water level in the Bypass Floodway and to prevent polluted water in the downstream from flowing back into the Bypass Floodway.
Fung Yuen is situated about 2 kilometers from Tai Po Town Centre. Most of the site is covered by natural / disturbed vegetation. There are some orchards in the foothill areas. A Fung Yuen Butterfly Reserve (2ha) has been managed by the Environmental Association under the Management Agreement Scheme since November 2005.
The Long Valley and Ho Sheung Heung area is situated between the River Beas (Sheung Yue River) and River Sutlej. It is widely recognised as being of high ecological value primarily due to the variety of freshwater wetland-dependent bird species that use its patchwork of wet agricultural habitats. Some of the wet agricultural land and fish ponds have been managed by Conservancy Association and Hong Kong Bird Watching Society under the Management Agreement Scheme since 2005.
The Zero Carbon Building is a signature project for eco-building design and technologies. The ZCB also features an urban native woodland, with diversity of native species to enhance biodiversity for the surrounding.
Kadoorie Farm and Botanic Garden (KFBG) was selected by the Hong Kong SAR Government in 2010 to transform the heritage site, in Hong Kong's New Territories, into a "Green Hub for Sustainable Living" under Batch II of the "Revitalising Historic Buildings Through Partnership Scheme" (Revitalisation Scheme).
The Green Hub has reimagined the Old Tai Po Police Station to demonstrate how we can live sustainably while at the same time respecting nature and respecting each other.
Visitors are invited to enjoy our locally-sourced, healthy food; join one of our transformative educational courses; learn about community events; engage with a network of community members who care about living lightly on our planet; and experience the beauty of this tranquil heritage site.
The Lok Ma Chau wetland located in northwest New Territories has been in operation since 2007 and helps to maintain biodiversity by providing various habitats as the marshes, fishponds and reedbed areas of the wetland provide important roosting sites for migratory birds.
When Island House was completed in 1906, it stood on a small islet called Yuen Chau Tsai, near the head of Tolo Harbour, which was connected to the mainland by a causeway. The two-storey building with open verandahs is a classic example of colonial architecture in the early 20th century. It was erected as quarters for government officers and was long associated with the former New Territories Administration. The building is now used by the World Wide Fund for Nature Hong Kong as a Conservation Studies Centre.
Project Name

都市綠色項目
下載小冊子
去片
簡介
「寶雲道斜坡研習徑」由土木工程拓展署轄下的土力工程處設計, 供老師、學生和有興趣的市民實地研習各種香港常見的斜坡工程,包括各類防止及防治山泥傾瀉、斜坡綠化及園景美化措施。
(一)香港的綠化斜坡
香港的市區接鄰陡峭的天然山坡,基建、房屋等依勢而建,因此帶植被的天然山坡或人工斜坡成為了本港城市景觀的一部份。在進行斜坡鞏固工程或天然山坡山泥傾瀉風險緩解措施時,土力工程處會在可行的情況下保存原有樹木,並盡量以植被護面覆蓋斜坡,以配合周邊的自然環境及營造可持續的生態;亦會為斜坡工程設定適當栽種目標,例如位處於郊區或市區邊緣並與天然植被相連的斜坡上種植原生樹木和灌木,提升其生態價值。每年在防治山泥傾瀉及相關風險減緩工程中,都栽種了近三十萬株植物,其中超過九成屬原生物種。
(二)寶雲道的斜坡美化及生態優化
2005年8月,暴雨導致寶雲道對上一幅山坡發生兩宗大型山泥傾瀉,一所小學被迫關閉超過三個星期。相關政府部門立即在崩塌範圍進行噴漿及安裝臨時泥釘等搶修工程。雖然緊急加固工程成功防止情況惡化,但在寶雲道一帶翠綠的山坡上,仍留下一道明顯的山泥傾瀉殘痕。當時土力工程處憑著創新思維,制定了一個獨特的美化方案。首先沿殘痕建造多重梯田式台階,改變斜坡的陡峭地勢,再於台階內回填泥土,並栽種本地植物。梯田式台階提供大量栽種空間,以種植多種植物及促進植物生長;為本地野生物種提供有利繁衍的自然生態,同時促進生物多樣性。
今年的國際環保博覽主題為減廢節能‧共創低碳未來。博覽的最後一天(10月28日)公眾人士可免費入場。屆時,場内將會設有綠色市集,並會舉辦一連串的活動,包括公眾日論壇、綠色工作坊、微電影首映等。
位於九龍灣啓成街3號的前香港空運貨站二號大樓,於2005年活化啟用為現機電工程署總部大樓,其活化和改建再用的理念,環保設計和教育設施、建造過程,減少拆缷及建築廢物,均顯示是香港先導活化及綠色建築物模範。總部大樓內設有一個教育徑,推廣能源效益及可再生能源科技,並介紹機電工程署的工作。它利用互動式展品,讓市民可在輕鬆的氣氛下,瞭解更多機電安全和能源效益措施的知識。
簡介
香港天文台總部建於1883年,主要建築大樓被列為香港法定古蹟。總部外的半天然林地,是少數的市區林地,孕育著多種不同的物種。
(一)半天然林地
天文台總部的林地,是九龍市區少數的半天然林地,其中栽種了各種香港常見樹木,包括細葉榕、假蘋婆及血桐等。茂密的林地為城市常見的鳥類、蝙蝠、各種昆蟲和其他野生動物提供在市區的棲息地。每逢春秋兩季,這片林地也成為過境候鳥的臨時棲所;部份候鳥如北灰鶲、烏鶇更會於整個冬季居留在這片林地。
(二)氣候變化
氣候變化是可能導致全球生物多樣性嚴重流失的主要原因之一。因溫室氣體排放量迅速上升,令氣候產生急劇變化並趨於嚴重,直接或間接地對生物多樣性產生影響。例如改變季節的特性和來臨時間,繼而擾亂了候鳥遷徙的路線和週期,使它們的繁殖期與食物出現的時機錯配。為了應對氣候變化,天文台提供了可靠的科學數據,更積極配合氣候變化督導委員會,以支援制定減緩、適應和提升應變能力的相關政策和行動。
簡介
香港動植物公園是本港歷史最悠久的公園,佔地五點六公頃,於1860年動工興建,1871年全面落成並開放予公眾參觀。
(一)在市區觀賞植物的好去處
香港動植物公園早期以蒐集和研究本地植物為主,後於1975年正式易名為「香港動植物公園」。公園種植不少原生植物,其中包括古樹名木、特別和稀有的植物,以及具藥用性的草本植物。此外,公園內設有多個各具特色的植物專類園,以及附有解說標籤的樹木硏習徑,方便公眾參觀;每星期日更舉辦免費導賞團,市民無須登山探谷,也能認識各色各樣的植物。
(二)市區公園作為野生生物的綠洲
康樂及文化事務署於個別公園特別設置「自然保育園地」,內有多樣化景觀和植被,提升市區的生物多樣性之餘亦提倡保育野生動物,如雀鳥、蝴蝶和蜻蜓等。在「自然保育園地」內種植及進行日常園藝保養時,會兼顧維護自然生態的原則,例如會選擇種植蜜源植物和會結果的原生樹木,為野生動物提供食物;同時亦會減少使用化學劑、調整修剪及移除花木的次數,以盡量避免騷擾棲息於園地的野生動物。
簡介
九龍城一號及二號污水泵房於2012年落成投入服務,泵房設計融入多項綠色建築理念,包括綠化天台、多孔路面、雨水花園及雨水回用設施等。
(一)綠色建築
九龍城一號污水泵房是首項獲綠建環評新建建築的最高評級—鉑金級認證的政府基建設施。泵房設有多塊太陽能光伏板,可供應建築物約百分之十五的電力;泵房外其餘六成綠化區域,則改善基建設施的景觀,並提高建築物的隔熱效能。另外,地板和其他設施均具備儲存雨水功能,收集到的雨水稍經處理後,會用作灌溉和沖廁,令水資源得以有效地利用。
(二)海綿城市
渠務署鼓勵新發展項目採用「海綿城市」的理念,促進可持續發展。「海綿城市」是現代雨水管理模式,充分利用土地資源,有助解決排水問題。為了應對氣候變化, 以「滲」、「滯」、「蓄」、「淨」、「用」和「排」為原則;透過活化水體、建設蓄洪湖,以及在城市建設中加入綠化天台、多孔路面和其他可持續排水設施等,有效地疏導和回用雨水,加強城市應對洪水的能力。
簡介
渠務署於2015年底分別在大埔下林村河近梅樹坑遊樂場的河道和粉嶺麻笏河近馬會道河段,開展了生態改善試驗研究。
(一)生態改善試驗研究
河道治理工程除了提升河道的排洪能力外,亦注入了綠化、生態保育及水景等元素,如盡量保留河道的自然生境。為此,這試驗研究將天然河床和河岸帶代替混凝土結構,改善工程更建立了多種水生生境,如水池、急流、鳥類休息地和挺水植被,以改善微生境及促進生物多樣性。初步的監測結果顯示,此試驗計劃具發展潛力,河道生境及生態價值獲得改善,並變得更多元化。
有關渠務署為香港其他選定河道進行的生態水力學研究詳情,請瀏覽 「 識河惜生態∙資料館」 網站。
(二)藍綠建設
為了讓香港持續成為宜居城市,渠務署以可持續發展作為推行各項工程的重要考慮因素。「藍綠建設」就是集自然環境、社區特色和現代化於一身的都市排水布局。「藍」是泛指河道水體,「綠」是指綠化景觀。各項工程都以環保作業方式施工,並特別注重保育河道的生態環境,以維持生物多樣性。
簡介
渠務署於2015年底分別在大埔下林村河近梅樹坑遊樂場的河道和粉嶺麻笏河近馬會道河段,開展了生態改善試驗研究。
(一)生態改善試驗研究
河道治理工程除了提升河道的排洪能力外,亦注入了綠化、生態保育及水景等元素,如盡量保留河道的自然生境。為此,這試驗研究將天然河床和河岸帶代替混凝土結構,改善工程更建立了多種水生生境,如水池、急流、鳥類休息地和挺水植被,以改善微生境及促進生物多樣性。初步的監測結果顯示,此試驗計劃具發展潛力,河道生境及生態價值獲得改善,並變得更多元化。
有關渠務署為香港其他選定河道進行的生態水力學研究詳情,請瀏覽 「 識河惜生態∙資料館」 網站。
(二)藍綠建設
為了讓香港持續成為宜居城市,渠務署以可持續發展作為推行各項工程的重要考慮因素。「藍綠建設」就是集自然環境、社區特色和現代化於一身的都市排水布局。「藍」是泛指河道水體,「綠」是指綠化景觀。各項工程都以環保作業方式施工,並特別注重保育河道的生態環境,以維持生物多樣性。
簡介
T · PARK [源 · 區] 由2015年投入服務,是一所自給自足、結合先進科技於休閒、教育和自然生態項目的綜合設施,榮獲「綠建環評新建建築」(1.1版)最高評級的暫定鉑金級認證,是香港綠色基建的新典範。T · PARK [源 · 區] 不僅是一座污泥處理廠,作為全球最先進的同類型設施之一,它標誌著香港致力實施「轉廢為能」的策略, 教育並鼓勵市民對廢物處理與資源回收,建立正面的態度及行為。
(一)園林生態
T · PARK [源 · 區] 內有七成的綠化面積,包括由五個主題組成的戶外花園、綠化屋頂,以及供野生生物棲息的園林濕地。佔地九千百八平方米的寬廣園林,栽種了香港本土植物及鼓勵原生物種棲息,提供遠離煩囂鬧市的寧靜空間;一個專為水鳥而設的保護區,為鳥類提供棲身之所。
(二)轉廢為能
T · PARK [源 · 區] 收集本港十一間污水處理廠的污泥,並透過先進科技,包括高效能的「流化床」焚化技術處理,將污泥體積大幅降低九成,再運送到堆填區棄置。焚化過程中所產生的熱能轉化為電力,為整座設施提電,剩餘電力則輸出至公眾電網,以供巿民使用。
簡介
大潭水務文物徑座落於大潭郊野公園及大潭水塘集水區内,由大潭水塘群内二十一項已被列為法定古蹟的水務歷史建築所組成。文物徑的四周擁有十分豐富的生物多樣性。
(一)大潭水塘群的生態
由於大潭水塘群四周被山谷包圍,使它擁有豐富的生物多樣性。沿著大潭水務文物徑能找到的植物種類繁多,包括山茶花(香港茶、大頭茶和克氏茶等)、羅漢松、楓香等。大潭水塘集水區被列為「具特殊科學價值地點」,因為周邊的林地為動物提供有利棲息地,並可以找到各種鳥類、哺乳類動物、兩棲及爬行類動物及昆蟲。
(二)集水區與郊野公園
現時,香港接近三分之一的土地被劃為集水區,用作收集及貯存雨水。大部分集水區的範圍與郊野公園重疊,並受到《郊野公園條例》保護。由於集水區和水塘都是飲用水的水源,市民應遵守《水務設施條例》,保護水資源免受污染。
添馬公園位於香港金鐘夏慤道,屬添馬艦發展工程的一部分,佔地約1.76公頃,毗鄰新政府總部及立法會綜合大樓,並自2011年10月10日起開放供市民使用。公園設計簡約雅致,景觀開揚,維港美景盡入眼簾。園內多片綠油油的草坪,猶如「綠地毯」,供遊人散步或閒坐,盡情享受綠化空間。
簡介
早年在港種植的台灣相思,近年已陸續步入老年期,樹幹或會受不同真菌感染,枝條容易折斷,甚至有倒塌風險,對市民構成危險。路政署正推出斜坡植林優化計劃,逐步更替路旁斜坡上老化的台灣相思。
(一)斜坡植林優化計劃
路政署推行斜坡植林優化計劃,有系統地移除一些結構狀況和健康欠佳、呈現老化的台灣相思,並重新栽種原生和本地化植物,如山烏桕、假蘋婆、珊瑚樹等。除可保障道路使用者的安全,也藉此提升生物多樣性、美化路旁景觀。移除的木材則可用作教學,或升級再造成雕塑、家具等,一舉多得。
(二)種植原生植物
由於原生植物一般較能適應本地環境,更可提供野生動物需要的食物和棲息地,對生態系統極有價值,故此路政署將在轄下的市區和郊區的斜坡和快速公路範圍內,種植更多原生植物。這些生境將會產生漣漪作用,在任何環境,尤其是市區,創造不同層次的生物多樣性。
元朗排水繞道採取了一系列的環保設計。其水流並不是筆直地流出大海,而是經過不同的流域,包括彎曲的河道、淺水池和人工濕地。河底和河岸斜坡上亦廣植不同品種的草本植物,營造一個具有觀賞和生態價值的天然河道。在下游尾段,設有旱流抽水站和充氣堤壩,以控制排水繞道的水位和防止下游污染了的河水倒流入排水繞道。
鳳園位於大埔市郊,距離大埔市中心只有2公里,主要為自然和受干擾植被,山麓地帶有些果園。自2005年11月起,環保協進會透過管理協議計劃管理佔地大約2公頃的鳳園蝴蝶保育區。
塱原及河上鄉位於雙魚河與石上河之間,農地生境阡陌縱橫,有多種依靠淡水濕地存活的鳥類棲息,因此素被公認為具有高度生態價值的地點。自2005年起,長春社及香港觀鳥會透過管理協議計劃共同管理這裡部份的濕田及魚塘。
零碳天地旨在展示環保建築的尖端科技及先進設計,當中包括一個種植了不同原生樹種的都市原生林,為城市營造有利生物多樣性的環境。
2010年,嘉道理農場暨植物園(本園)獲香港特別行政區政府選定為合作伙伴,藉第二期「活化歷史建築伙伴計劃」(簡稱「活化計劃」),將舊大埔警署歷史建築群活化成綠匯學苑以推廣永續生活。
綠匯學苑項目把「舊大埔警署」建築群轉化為向大眾推廣永續生活的基地,並展示彼此尊重及尊重自然的精神。
綠匯學苑的訪客,可以在慧食堂品嘗主要以本土食材製作的健康美食、參加啓迪教育課程、了解社區的永續發展動向、結識志同道合的社區朋友並互相交流永續生活心得。訪客亦可以選擇單純地欣賞歷史建築群的恬靜美態。
另外,為鼓勵永續生活的實踐,這裡提供以本地食材烹煮的健康素食輕餐、多元化的永續生活工作坊及課程,讓您與志同道合的朋友交流心得。
落馬洲濕地位於新界西北面,自2007年起開始運作,濕地內的沼澤、魚塘和蘆葦區為候鳥提供一個重要的棲息環境,提供受保護的棲息地,以維持生物多樣性。
前政務司官邸於一九○六年落成,當時坐落於吐露港一小島元洲仔上,原由一條基堤與陸地連接。官邸是兩層高建築,建有遊廊,是一座二十世紀初的典型殖民地式建築。建築物原用作當時新界理民官宿舍之用,後改為政務司官邸,與新界民政息息相關。現已改用作世界自然(香港)基金會的自然環境保護研究中心。
項目名稱